Our Government

The Nisqually Tribe’s Constitution and Bylaws were approved on Sept. 9, 1946, and amended in 1994. The Tribe operates as a self-governing entity, using resources from its own economic enterprises, as well as federal program dollars.

As the Constitution establishes, the Nisqually Tribe is governed by a General Council, comprising all enrolled tribal members at least 18 years old. From the General Council, an elected Tribal Council of seven members conducts the day-to-day business operation of the tribe.

The Tribe’s administrative duties are further overseen by a Tribal Administrator who works for the Tribal Council. The administrator manages divisions and major programs with the help of division heads. The Tribe’s organizational structure and management system provide strict separation of policy-making and management duties, while maintaining clear lines of authority within the government.


News and Events

Governor Inslee will be signing the Native American Heritage Day Bill/SSB 6078 on Wednesday, April 2, 2014 at 3pm in the Governor’s Conference Room (Legislative/Rotunda Building). This legislation declares the fourth Friday in November as a state legal holiday and a school holiday to be known as Native American Heritage Day. Governor Inslee will also be signing SHB 2080, which vacates convictions for certain tribal fishing activities.
**Date and time are subject to change.
For full details and a link to Capitol Campus maps, click here.

Charitable Giving
Every year the Nisqually Tribe awards funds to local non-profits to help encourage and support the work these great organizations are doing. The 2013 Applications for Nisqually Tribe awards are now closed.

The Nisqually Tribal Council

As Chairperson, Iyall has provided strong leadership and vision for the Nisqually people, driving numerous key projects that have greatly improved the Tribe’s finances, its services to members, and its public image.

Cynthia Iyall, Chairperson

Willie brings extensive tribal governance experience to his role as a Councilmember. A graduate of Evergreen State College’s Native American Studies program, Willie plans to use his education to work for and with tribal members to plan future growth and development.

William Frank III, Vice-Chairperson

Jean Sanders is Secretary of the Nisqually Indian Tribe and also a member of the Tribal Council. In these roles, Sanders oversees vital planning and archiving projects for the Tribe, with a particular focus on education, housing and Nisqually cultural preservation.

 Jean Sanders, Secretary

Stephanie brings experience from a wide range of tribal issues and departments, including Fisheries, Planning, Health, Geoduck and Financial Services. Stephanie began her career with the Tribe in 1978.

Stephanie Scott, Treasurer

Slape believes Nisqually tribal members must act as stewards of their natural resources. Before his role on the Nisqually Tribal Council, Slape was a tribal fish and wildlife officer for five years.

James Slape Jr., 5th Tribal Council Member

Antonette Squally, 6th Tribal Council Member

Farron McCloud, 7th Tribal Council Member


Tribal Council Meeting Minutes

Meeting minutes from 2007 - 2012

You can contact the council at (360) 456-5221


MISSION: The Nisqually Tribe’s mission is to perpetuate our home and our culture, by helping our people thrive.


© 2010 - 2013 Nisqually Tribe (360) 456-5221 or Toll Free 1 (877) 768-8886 | 4820 She-Nah-Num Dr. S.E. - Olympia, WA 98513
Terms of Use | Developed by Dorey Design Group

Remote Email AccessRemote Email Access