

Date: February 25, 2021

To: Nisqually Indian Tribe Members

From: Honest Ballot

Subject: 2021 Primary Election

To be held at – Billy Frank Jr. Gymnasium on The Nisqually Indian Reservation 4820 She Nah Num Drive SE

Olympia, WA 98513

**SATURDAY, March 13, 2021** 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 PM

On behalf of the Nisqually Indian Tribal Council, Honest Ballot issues this notice of the Primary Election to be held at Billy Frank Jr. Gymnasium on the Nisqually Indian Reservation, 4820 She Nah Num Drive SE, Olympia, Washington 98513. Honest Ballot is an independent election services provider that has been engaged as third-party election auditor per Title 13 of the Nisqually Tribal Code.

Please see the candidates nominated for the 2021 primary election on the back of this letter. According to Title 13 of the Nisqually Tribal Code, all positions are elected by plurality vote – the candidates with the most votes win. The top two candidates in each race with the most votes will move onto the general election on May 1, 2021.

<u>Note:</u> There are only two (2) candidates running for Enrollment Committee Secretary, Fifth Member, and only three (3) candidates running for 2 positions for Shareholder (2 Year Term). Therefore, those positions advanced to the General Election. Enrollment Committee Chair candidate will be declared winner after the primary as there is only one Candidate running for the position. The top five candidates who receive the most votes at the Primary election shall be declared the winners for Fish Commission positions as per 13.02.07(g). There will be no General Election for any Fish Commission positions.

As required by Title 13 of the Nisqually Tribal Code, you have the following options to cast a vote in these important elections:

- 1. In-person at the primary election via written ballot; or
- 2. By Absentee Ballot if you are not available to vote in person on March 13, 2021, you may vote by Absentee Ballot according to Article IV, Section 2 of the Nisqually Constitution.

To vote by Absentee Ballot please follow the instructions below:

- ➤ Absentee Ballot Requests closed on February 23, 2021.
- ➤ Honest Ballot will be sending an Absentee Ballot for the primary election to all those who requested one.
- ➤ The completed <u>Absentee Ballot must be received</u> by mail no later than March 13, 2021 or deposit the envelope in the locked mailbox at the Tribal Center no later than closing of the polls 5:00 PM on March 13, 2021.

If it comes to your attention that a fellow tribal member did not receive this mailing package, please advise them to contact Honest Ballot at (800) 541-1851 or send an email to <a href="wote@honestballot.com">wote@honestballot.com</a>. Customer Service is available from 9:30 AM to 5:00 PM EST Monday through Friday, and via email other days and times.

Thank you.

# **Candidates For 2021 Primary Election**

# TRIBAL COUNCIL CHAIRMAN

Vote for no more than One (1) candidate

- 1. Ellery (Ken) Choke Jr.
- 2. William (Willie) Frank III
- 3. Raymond Hicks

### TRIBAL COUNCIL SECRETARY

Vote for no more than One (1) candidate

- 4. Amanda Hicks
- 5. Shannon Iyall
- 6. Darla Obi
- 7. Jacqueline (Jackie) Whittington

# TRIBAL COUNCIL 5<sup>TH</sup> MEMBER

Vote for no more than One (1) candidate

- 8. Leon Dunstan
- 9. Kareem Gannie
- 10. Garry Hicks III
- 11. Julius (Joe) Kautz III
- 12. Leighanna Scott
- 13. Chaynannah (Chay) Squally
- 14. Frank Thomas
- 15. Jennifer Underwood

### **SERGEANT-AT-ARMS**

Vote for no more than One (1) candidate

- 16. Jeffrey "Jeff" Choke
- 17. Derrick Sanchez
- 18. Norine Wells

### FISH COMMISSION

Vote for no more than Five (5) candidate(s)

- 19. Charles "Chuck" Blacketer
- 20. Jeffrey "Jeff" Choke
- 21. Anthony "Tony" James
- 22. Jason Kautz
- 23. Herman (Buckey) McCloud
- 24. Daniel (Danny) McGee
- 25. Robert McGee
- 26. Emiliano (Nano) Perez
- 27. Wilfredo (Fredo) Rosado
- 28. Douglas (Joe) Sanders
- 29. Michael Sanders
- 30. Tandy Squally-Hyasman
- 31. Reuben (Huey) Wells Jr.